BookExpo 2017 swagggg

So. BookExpo. BookExpo, guys.

I think I say for everyone when I proclaim that going to BookExpo is probably the single coolest thing about working in publishing. Well, unless you’re the person who signed Harry Potter or something. That’s pretty rad too. But BookExpo is pretty up there.

Technically, our office didn’t have an official BookExpo thing. We’re higher ed, not trade, so I guess no one thought editorial would be interested in going? Like I get it, it’s cool, I only read mental health textbooks ever anyways.

….lol.

In any case, through some judicious and generous help of some of my coworkers, esp. my boss who is clutch af, I was able to finagle a pass for the morning.

And reader, I made out like a fuckin bandit, considering I only had an hour and a half before I had to get back to work.

It was eye-opening. Overwhelming. Marvelous and I could have tottered around Javits Center all day if allowed. At one point, I kept confessing how frazzled I felt to the lady I happened to be closest to. Poor woman had only asked if I was in line for the Katherine Applegate signing (I was not (though I probably should have joined the line. I fucking loved Animorphs)).

Though I wasn’t able to stay for any of the sessions, I did manage to grab a respectable amount of galleys, and even a few that I’d long marked on my to-read list, so I think I’m quite good.

This meant hauling back an enormous stack of books back to my office (where they… still are…) and then pondering what to do with them. I have plenty of unread books still, and I worry that these galleys will go the same unread route. So I’m going to make a good effort to read each of these things, bringing them home one or two at a time so as not to be totally overwhelming.

First up:

The Bedlam Stacks, by Natasha Pulley, publishing in August 2017.

This was the main galley I wanted to grab from BEA. I recently read The Watchmaker of Filigree Street and fell in love with Pulley’s characters and storytelling. While it wasn’t perfect, there was such charm as well as potential to her writing that I had already decided to read anything else the author cared to publish.

So when I saw that this was one of the Bloomsbury galleys, praise be and hallelujah, I timed my entire trip around this one galley drop.

I am usually a save-the-best-for-last kind of gal, but I’ll admit– a) I’m entirely too excited for this book and b) we’ll probably all be dead of climate change in approx. two years so might as well enjoy life amirite.

We’ll see how this goes!

Leave a Reply

